After last year’s oversubscribed HOD weekend reviewing the rich history of Wisbech Corn Exchange we want to hear your views and ideas to help us with what happens next. Share your personal vision for the future use of this iconic local building!
During the last twelve months Wisbech Corn Exchange Conservation Trust has been working towards bringing back into full use what for decades was the centre for community and cultural events in Wisbech, Capital of the Fens.
Built in 1811, following plans by Joseph Medworth, as an Exchange Hall and Gentlemen’s Club, the Corn Exchange became home to Wisbech Town Council in 1835, where it remains resident to the present day. In the latter years of the 19th century, the Corn Exchange became a regular place for public entertainment – from Shakespeare recitations to dancing, rollerskating, wrestling and bingo. Appearances by major figures in the 1960s include Lulu, The Rolling Stones and Jerry Lee Lewis. The Corn Exchange closed in the mid-1990s after initial plans to change its use to a cinema were halted.
Take a look at our video from Wisbech Corn Exchange HODs 2018.
WCXCT is working towards a heritage and culture-led development plan in partnership with local and national community organisations leading to a major refurbishment of Wisbech Corn Exchange.
Join us and help participate in bringing about the transformation of this historical local building to provide contemporary multi-purpose facilities for public and private benefit.
NO PRE-BOOKING REQUIRED. FOYER OPEN FROM 10AM – 4PM ON OPEN DAYS.
NB: ONLY THE CORN EXCHANGE FOYER WILL BE OPEN THIS YEAR, NO ACCESS TO THE THE MAIN HALL.
Saturday 21 September: 1000-1600
Sunday 22 September: 1000-1600
No booking required
Small steps into entrance. Wheelchair ramp available. Chair lift available to Council chambers.
Optional visit of the Town Council Chambers available
The Corn Exchange is located near the bridge opposite the Thomas Clarkson Memorial, on the North Brink prior to National Trust property Peckover House. Parking available by the riverside and in the Old Market.